One Good Photographer's Weblog

A Solarized Tree in Central Park

Posted in Canon 7D, Central Park, Huntington Beach, Photography, tree branches, trees by Bridget Casas on May 6, 2010

A Tree in Central Park

Canon 7D, Raw, 17mm, f/9, 1/800, ISO 2500

The original photo of this tree came out exactly like I wanted. I did have to do some exposure adjusting in Camera Raw, but no cropping or anything else. When I got it into Photoshop, I decided I didn’t want to show you just another tree surrounded by green grass in the park. I started playing around with different filters and settled on this to give it a black and white, high grain solarized look. What that means is, parts of the “negative” are reversed. If you look at a black and white negative and it is reversed in post processing, that is one type of solarization. Did you learn something new today?

408/365

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nicolerigets said, on May 7, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Thanks Bridget… I always enjoy seeing your work!


Leave a comment