One Good Photographer's Weblog

Huntington Beach Pier at the Golden Hour

Posted in Canon 7D, Huntington Beach by Bridget Casas on February 26, 2011

Huntington Beach Pier

Canon 7D, Raw, f/14.0, 1/40, ISO 100, EF-S 17-55mm, 33mm

I have been working on senior portraits for a very fantastic young lady from Edison High School here in Huntington Beach. We finished up the other day down at the pier. We met about 4:30 and this is probably around 5:30. I will share some with you when I am finished with them. My goal was to take a photo of the pier to replace the one at the top of this weblog. I am tired of seeing that man in the red trunks. He doesn’t even look good! This one did not work for that. Willie and I will be going again soon. I didn’t have to do much to this photo. I took it into Camera Raw and upped the exposure just a little. Then in Photoshop, I increased the contrast. That’s about it. Since I used a low ISO (100), there was no grain so no need to deal with that. I used a small aperture (f/14.0) so I wouldn’t have to worry about the range of focus – meaning I wanted the whole image in focus and not just one point.  I try to take care of things in the camera. If it is not in focus, you cannot make it focus on the computer. You can do a lot of other things, but you need to get your focus right. Until the next image…


One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. justalittlebrit said, on October 19, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I love the detail of how you took the photo! Really interesting to see how people take their photos :)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

