One Good Photographer's Weblog

A Light Pole in Central Park

Posted in Canon 7D, Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on May 3, 2010

Central Park Light Pole
Canon 7D, Raw, 17mm, f/9, 1/320, ISO 200

It was such a gorgeous day and after having lunch with Larry, Shelley and Lily, Willie and I took the dogs and the camera to Central Park to go for a walk. We certainly were not the only people with that idea! I took some good photos which I will share with you. I put this one in today because Willie likes it. I like the shadow and the rust and texture on the pole, but I am having difficulty looking at it. My eye keeps going off the page. Start with the base of the pole and follow the shadow. Then go a little left at the top of the shadow and follow the trees to the pole. What happens? You go right off the page! There is nothing to lead you back down to the base and off again. Compare this image to the black and white geraniums I did last. You should be able to easily see what I am talking about. Let me know what you think of this image.

407/365

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nicolerigets said, on May 3, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    I like it Bridget: because the composition sets the pole right in front of me so I can study its rusty patterns. I’m very intrigued with the pole’s shadow that looks like a dangerous saw blade. Great Shot!


Leave a Reply

