One Good Photographer's Weblog

In My Front Yard

Posted in bougainvillea, Canon 7D, Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on August 6, 2010

Canon 7D, Raw, EF-S18-55mm, 28mm, f/4.0, 1/125, ISO 100

When I stepped out my front door this morning to get the newspaper, I saw this beautiful bloom. My house faces North so there is not much sun. My bougainvillea rarely gets any flowers. I thought I better take a photo. I like it because it shows the pinks and the oranges. I basically just did levels and contrast adjustments. I like being able to see the texture on the petals and the stamens. In general, I am very happy with this photo. Let me know what you think!

420/365

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lynnwiles said, on September 15, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Hi Bridget, It’s been awhile, but I have to ask what species of bougainvillea is that? I had an indoor potted one that color for about 10 years and then it died and I have not been able to find that pink/yellow/apricot type again. One of my favorite flowers and you are so lucky to have them outside – even if they don’t bloom that often. Just beautiful.


Leave a comment