One Good Photographer's Weblog

White Orchids on My Patio

Posted in Canon 7D, flowers, Huntington Beach, orchid by Bridget Casas on June 10, 2010

Canon 7D, Canon EF-S18-55mm, Raw, 34mm, f/6.3, 1/250, ISO 800

I finally got that photograph of my orchid. I took this on my patio in natural light. I guess I was “feeling it” today!  As usual, I did a levels adjustment in Photoshop plus a vibrance increase.  I put everything on a new layer and changed the blend mode to multiply. It highlights the details on the flowers. I decided to include more lens info in my caption. Specifically, the manufacturer and size of the lens. The lenses I use are all Canon except my Lensbaby. That reminds me, I haven’t used that lens in a while. Maybe tomorrow or sometime this week-end. I am trying to give you as much info as possible about what I do and how I do it. I hope you find some of it helpful.

416/365

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. epicswife said, on June 10, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Very nice !!! Love the black background – really makes it pop!!

  2. nicolerigets said, on June 19, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I can actually feel the petals in this photograph… a very dynamic piece!

    • Bridget Casas said, on June 20, 2010 at 1:39 pm

      You are always so good at feeling what I am trying to show! Thank you so much!


Leave a Reply

