One Good Photographer's Weblog

A Moon Shot on a Very Cloudy Night

Posted in Canon 7D, full moon, Huntington Beach, Photography, shadows by Bridget Casas on May 28, 2010

Canon 7D, Raw, 300mm, f/11, 1/125, ISO 200

Got a little break in the clouds late last night.  You can see some cloud shadows in this photograph. I took two dozen photos and this one shows the face of the moon and some clouds. I did some sharpening and noise reduction in camera raw. Also some exposure adjustment so the moon would show up clearer.  A  levels adjustment in Photoshop and I was done. Maybe I should have increased the ISO and some of the clouds around the moon would have shown up. Compare this to another full moon photo I took almost two years ago.

413/365

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nicolerigets said, on May 28, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Hi Bridget,

    Both photographs are incredible… and what fascinates me is the amount of detail and information I can read in the surfaces of these two moons.

    • Bridget Casas said, on May 28, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      We forget how close the moon really is. On a very clear night, you can see a lot of this with the naked eye. Down here I need a good telephoto lens or a telescope. You can probably see more where you live. I know that when we go up to the local mountains, we can see the Milky Way! I really appreciate you folowing me.

  2. nicolerigets said, on May 29, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    There is so much night light in Vancouver B.C. that it wasn’t until I went to Pender Island, a couple of long ferry rides away, that I really saw the stars in a jet black velvet sky. I felt dizzy looking upward at them; I had never felt their close proximity before. It was a magical experience.
    I enjoy your posts; wishing you a wonderful weekend.

  3. thethoughtherder said, on December 23, 2010 at 10:28 am

    Thats an awesome shot, as someone else has posted the detail is superb. I’ve tried to get some good shots of the moon on clear nights but I think that my Nikon D60 combined with my dodgy post pic editing skills aren’t up to scratch.

    • Bridget Casas said, on December 23, 2010 at 10:38 am

      I appreciate your comments and I thank you for looking at some of my images. You really need a telephoto lens to get a good shot. Give it a try!


Leave a Reply

