One Good Photographer's Weblog

What Can You See When You Look Up?

Posted in Canon 7D, Huntington Beach, Photography, tree branches, trees by Bridget Casas on May 27, 2010

Canon 7D, Camera Raw, 17mm, f/5.6, 1/160, ISO 200

This is my neighbors tree in their parkway. I noticed one day how intricate and intertwined the branches are. You can’t see any of this just looking at the tree straight on. I went in the house to grab my camera and Willie wondered what I was doing. When I showed them to him, he said he had never noticed this before. I did increase the saturation and contrast in Photoshop. It did not need a levels adjustment. I then cropped it some because the sky looked white at the two bottom corners of the photo. It was too distracting and I wanted you to be able to see all that is going on with the tree. I hope you like it. Tonight there is a full moon. I am going to try to get out and take a photo. Why don’t you do it too and we can all post tomorrow and compare. Also, go outside and look up to see if there is anything interesting to photograph!

412/365

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. nicolerigets said, on May 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    This is absolutely fabulous Bridget!! A magnificent ballet of branches. Please publish the night shot when it’s ready. Love it!

    • Bridget Casas said, on May 27, 2010 at 8:15 pm

      It is so cloudy here now I don’t think I will be able to do it! But I will keep checking.

  2. nicolerigets said, on May 27, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Weather can be so unpredictable; yet you may get some strange and unique effects through the clouds. Worth a try even if you have to photoshop it heavily. 🙂


Leave a Reply

