One Good Photographer's Weblog

A Beautiful Geranium

Posted in Canon 7D, Photography by Bridget Casas on April 25, 2010

Black and white geranium

Canon 7D, Raw, 55mm, f/2.8, ISO 100

I have never done a black and white geranium photograph. This was a beautiful pink with many colors going through the leaves. I opened up my Nik filters and decided to go black and white. This has a blue filter which really made the flowers pop. I made a slight contrast adjustment (lowering it) along with a levels adjustment and here is the result. I hope you like it. I like the way it has a circular feel from the leaves in front and the leaves and stems in the back. It makes your eyes stay on the photo and not go off. Do you agree?

406/365

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Joanne said, on April 25, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I photograph lots of pelargoniums but I never considered black and white. Yours came out real nice. Good work.

    • Bridget Casas said, on April 26, 2010 at 7:29 am

      Thank you. I hope it inspires you to try some black and white photography.

  2. nicolerigets said, on April 26, 2010 at 12:08 am

    Hi Bridget,
    Poetry in this floral pose… and the depth of field makes it! You do keep your eyes on the movement inside the borders of this photograph.

    • Bridget Casas said, on April 26, 2010 at 7:33 am

      Thank you for looking. I’m glad you paid attention to the movement of your eyes.


Leave a Reply

