One Good Photographer's Weblog

A Great Headshot

Posted in Canon 7D, Casas, Family, headshot, Larry and Shelley, Photography, portrait photography by Bridget Casas on February 28, 2010

Canon 7D, Raw, 50mm, f/11.0, 1/160/ ISO 1600, Fill Flash

Isn’t this a handsome young man? I took this photo as an assignment for a portrait photography lesson. I think it came out very well. Those gray-blue eyes have flecks of gold and yellow in them. This is my son, Larry. I called him this morning and said I wanted to come over and take some head shots of him that I needed. He said ok. When I got there, he was putting together the baby carriage for his daughter who will be here in a month. He was dressed in jeans and a t-shirt.He  didn’t understand what I was going to do because he said, “I would have shaved!” I said the shot is to show his personality and that is what it is doing. They had just gotten home from the mountains a few hours before and were catching up on some chores at home. I haven’t gotten feedback from him yet.  We used natural light in his living room, but I ended up having to use some fill flash because of the shadows on his face. It evened the light out. I do not think a reflector would have taken care of that – the light was too uneven.

396/365

Leave a Reply

