One Good Photographer's Weblog

From the Desert, the Ocean or Both?

Posted in black and white, Canon 7D, rocks by Bridget Casas on February 27, 2010

Camera Raw, 45mm, f/11, 1/100, ISO 400, Nik Silver FX Filter

I walked outside with my camera today and said to myself, “What are you going to photograph?” I walked around and then I saw this. Isn’t it gorgeous? How many little creatures do you think have lived in and on this rock? How old do you think it is? In post processing, I changed it from Raw to DNG. Isn’t the texture and the depth fantastic? I made a few adjustments in Camera Raw and then brought it into Photoshop. There I used a filter from Nik Silver FX to convert it to black and white. I then used a high pass filter to bring out the edges and changed my layer blend mode. That made all the different levels of this image really pop. 

395/365

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Benjamin Bailey (Banor) said, on February 27, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    Nice shot and vignette. 🙂

    • Bridget Casas said, on February 27, 2010 at 6:30 pm

      Thank you very much. I really appreciate you looking at the image and at my site.

      • Benjamin Bailey (Banor) said, on February 27, 2010 at 6:31 pm

        Yep, no problem. Thanks for posting! It’s great to see what other artists are doing 🙂 (BTW I found this page from your Twitter tweet (post))

  2. Benjamin Bailey (Banor) said, on February 27, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    So do you live by the beach?


Leave a Reply

