One Good Photographer's Weblog

An Environmental Portrait

Posted in Canon 7D, environmental portrait, Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on February 13, 2010

environmental portrait

Canon 7D, Raw, 18mm, f/2.8, 1/640, ISO 6400

Wikipedia says, “An environmental portrait is a portrait executed in the subject’s usual environment, such as in their home or workplace, and typically illuminates the subject’s life and surroundings.” That is exactly what this photo does. This is a young college student, Mallory, who lives in this studio unit. She loves to take pictures and she is always on her computer. She wanted to make sure her pool table got in the photo too. We had a lot of fun taking a lot of photos. I kind of liked this one the best. As you can see, I used a very high ISO (6400) with no flash, just some natural light. I did get rid of some of the grain using a great noise reduction software (Imagenomic). I warmed up the temperature a little in camera raw and then a levels adjustment in Photoshop.

391/365

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Duy Le said, on October 2, 2010 at 5:30 pm

    I don’t get it. Why do you have to use that high Iso and Shutter speed 0_0??? For me, with f2.8, 400 for iso and 25-200 for shutter speed is enough, but i don’t know if there is any trick in your picture. Can you explain why? thanks

    • Bridget Casas said, on October 3, 2010 at 8:09 am

      To be honest, I hadn’t had my new camera very long. Her studio apartment was very dark and not much light coming in. I didn’t want to use any flash because I wanted the light to be even across the room. I was also curious how the image would come out using that high ISO. I have not used that high an ISO since then. Thanks for looking.

  2. Duy Le said, on October 7, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Wow, i thought that you took the picture in the afternoon with the full opening windows :D. Btw, the picture looks perfect even at that high ISO. 😀

  3. Duy Le said, on October 7, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Oh, i can see some pics of Golden West college here, are you a GWC’s student? I am studying there and want to take the photography classes in next semester. Can’t know if it’s interesting or just boring like my photoshop class before 😦


Leave a Reply

