One Good Photographer's Weblog

Some Great Looking Watermelons

Posted in Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on July 23, 2009

A good ripe, sweet watermelon is definitely my favorite summer fruit. Why do they have to be so expensive? The average price around here is $5.99/each. That is too much money for a piece of fruit! We have only purchased one this year and that was when they were on sale for $2.00. I can just look at them and dream and maybe take a photo like I did today. What can I give up so I don’t feel guilty about buying a watermelon?

Watermelon_1360

Some great looking watermelons at the grocery store…

I had a very nice lunch today with my friend Robin who has asked me to photograph a calendar for Breast Cancer Awareness. We made a lot of plans that need to go into effect right away. My friend Carol has volunteered to help me out so that will be great. The calendars need to be done and ready to sell on September 25th. I am hoping we will be able to do it all in one day – but it will probably need two. She will be getting sponsors for each page so that will help her raise more funds. Hopefully it will be a big success for her and all of her friends!

323/365

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Carol said, on July 23, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    It’s hard to buy a watermelon for 2 people…especially when your husband won’t really be excited about it…. Nevertheless, I bought two of the mini seedless at Costco (2 for $5) Still pricey, yes, but think about it, a Starbuck’s latte is almost $4.00 & not nearly as good-or good for you, as delicious watermelon!

    Carol

    • Bridget Casas said, on July 23, 2009 at 9:34 pm

      I know – I am being silly about it! It’s like when we go to the store and look at the 2 litre bottles of soda. I hate to spend $1.35 for one bottle, but at a restaurant I do not even think twice about spending $1.95 on a glass of soda! What is wrong with me?


Leave a Reply

