One Good Photographer's Weblog

Is This A Succulent Jade Plant?

Posted in Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on July 15, 2009

I am a little unsure of what this plant is. It is a succulent Willie has growing in a pot in our backyard. I am sure he got a little piece somewhere and stuck it in some dirt. Aren’t the colors beautiful? I broke out my Lensbaby with the +4 macro lens, put the camera on the tripod and the plant on the ground (a little hard on the back!). My sweet spot is still not quite where I want it to be, but it came very close on this photo. Willie looked at it from across the room and said, “It’s out of focus!” I pointed to where it is in focus and he came closer to look at it. He said. “ok.”  (Sidebar: When my mother was a little girl, she would get her mouth washed out with soap if she said “ok.”). I love the colors – they go from pale green to yellow to blue, purple and red. What more could one ask for?

IMG_3388-1

Can someone tell me what the name of this plant is…?

Willie had me help him set up his own weblog today. It took us a while to come up with a name he liked that was available and then to select a theme. As soon as he has a post I will put up a link so you can check out his work. This is my first post I have written on my new PC. I have found that Vista is not that different from XP. It is just going to take me a while to get organized. Willie is feeling better today. I am sure he will be fine by tomorrow. We are planning to go to San Pedro on Friday to take some photos and maybe walk the dogs around. I am sure it will be a nice day. Until tomorrow…

315/365

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mercerd said, on July 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    interesting material, where such topics do you find? I will often go

    • Bridget Casas said, on July 21, 2009 at 9:42 pm

      Thank you. A lot of them, like this one, are in my own backyard!


Leave a Reply

