One Good Photographer's Weblog

Food Photography With the Lensbaby

Posted in Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on July 7, 2009

Well, I have done Lensbaby a few times this month and food photography a few times this month, so this image uses them both. I messed with my diopter yesterday to see if I could get a better focus with my glasses on. I tried today and it is a little better. Can you really get a sharp center focus with the Lensbaby 2.0 and have  it flair out from the center? That is what I was trying with this image. It is a little better. My last two food images were of healthy fruit, I saw this and thought, what the heck, let’s use something not healthy!

M&M_070709_1608

Colorful, forbidden “fruit”…

Watching the Dodger game now – they are beating NY Mets 5-0, 5th inning. We’ll see how it ends! Willie just left for Long Beach. The full moon rises at 8:35 tonight. Maybe I will go take a photo. But, when you have taken one good full moon photo, another one is not going to be any different! Filled out Willie’s means test today for the VA (he is a Vietnam veteran). He will see his doctor tomorrow about his smashed finger. I am not sure what time. I forgot to say that I used my +4 Lensbaby macro filter on this image. I tried the +10, but I would have only shown you about 1/2 a dozen candies in the middle! I cannot believe Gary Sheffield is still play baseball!

308/365 

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. landscape photography said, on July 7, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    Interesting effect, i’ve not tried the Lensbaby yet.

    • Bridget Casas said, on July 7, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      It has been fun to play with but I am not yet where I want to be with it. I want to perfect getting the focus in the center so I can do some portraits and use it at weddings. I think it could be an interesting effect. Than k you for looking!

  2. Sam Pardue said, on July 8, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Hi Bridget,

    I have enjoyed dropping by to see your Lensbaby journey from time to time. You can definitely get a crisp sweet spot with the Lensbaby 2.0. Practice and a well adjusted diopter are helpful, but so is a good finger position. There is a nice How To Video on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvL0j8BFasU. I hope that helps!

    Sincerely,

    Sam Pardue
    CEO
    Lensbaby

    • Bridget Casas said, on July 8, 2009 at 10:55 am

      Thank you for visiting my site. I think I am getting closer but there is still work to be done! I will check out that video right away!


Leave a Reply

