One Good Photographer's Weblog

An Elephant in the Jungle

Posted in Family, Huntington Beach, Photography by Bridget Casas on June 14, 2009

What do you think of this elephant? It is another Lensbaby attempt. I was trying very hard to get the focul point on the elephants eye. I did not succeed very well, but out of all the photos I took today, this was the closest. This is a wooden sculpture with actual ivory husks (I probably should not admit that) that my mother had for many, many years. I do not know if she purchased it herself or if it was a gift. I am sure that at the time it was all very legal, just like her real ivory earrings!

Elephant_61409_1512

A real ivory tusked elephant…

I tried converting the image to black and white but I was not happy with it. It will take a while to get the hang of this Lensbaby – but it will be fun learning! I finished up the ceremony photos today from the wedding. I went on to the formal/fun photos, but Photoshop kept shutting down on me. I guess I had done enough for today! I will try to finish tomorrow. The weather warmed up today. Willie is barbecuing us a nice steak for dinner. That has always been one of my favorites. When my brother’s and I were growing up and it was our birthday, our mother always gave us a choice of what to have for dinner. I always chose steak! I don’t remember what Frankie and Howard chose. I will have to ask them!

285/365

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Howard said, on June 18, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Shrimp

    • Bridget Casas said, on June 18, 2009 at 7:36 pm

      What does that mean? Ok, after re-reading my post I now know what you mean. Thank you!

  2. elton said, on June 20, 2009 at 5:19 am

    When i had read the reviews of the lensbaby 2.0 / muse, i realised that i don’t have the manual dexterity / patience to master the art of moving the bellows, so i opted for the composer instead, i’ve found it easier to use (not that i’ve tried the 2.0 / muse).

    another aid to composition / focus, until you get the hang of what to expect in the final frame would be to use the live-view function. its easier to view the final result of the lensbaby shot on the LCD than in the viewfinder. A tripod might also help if you are testing it, until you get the hang of the bellows for focusing.

    finally, i had a look at your image and it seems that there’s camera shake adding to that blur, probably because of the 1/13 sec exposure. use a tripod to eliminate that, or bump up the ISO and check again. It might be easier to get away with 1/13 sec exposure on a ‘regular’ lens but with the bellows, it might become a bit of a challenge.

    The recommend trick is to first get focus when the LB is centred, then twist to the place u want focused and then re-focus. the more you twist, the more the blur. you could also check your aperture ring. i use the 2.8 ring as a fair balance between blur and sharp.


Leave a Reply

