One Good Photographer's Weblog

Another Photo From My Backyard

Posted in Huntington Beach, Personal, Photography by Bridget Casas on June 9, 2009

Last week I got the Photomatix software for HDR images. I was out today taking some photos of the Santa Ana River that runs through Huntington Beach to the ocean. Well, as you should be able to tell by my choice of photo for today, that did not work out very well! After I looked at the images I took, I grabbed my camera and went in my backyard. I asked myself, “What have I not photographed out here and what is the late afternoon sun shining on?” Well, this is what I found. It is a pot with a fern on my patio table.

Fern__060909_1486

A very bushy fern on my patio…

When we purchased this fern, I wanted to put it in a hanging pot, but Willie had other ideas. He used this very pretty pot we bought years ago at a fund raiser at Larry’s grammar school. It is one of my favorite pots and the fern looks very nice in it. I shot this at a very low aperture, f 2.8, so what does that create? A very shallow depth of field! The exposure was at 1/200th of a second and the ISO at 100.  Of course I love the sunshine and shadows on it. Still plugging away at the wedding photos!

280/365

Leave a Reply

