One Good Photographer's Weblog

June is Busting Out All Over!

Posted in Huntington Beach by Bridget Casas on June 2, 2009

In case you do not know, that is the name of a song from the Broadway show and movie named Carousel!  I have always been a fan of musicals, as everyone in my family will attest to (hey, that could be Item #6 in things you don’t know about me!). The reason the title came to me is that I have two days in a row of flowers on the first two days of June! Anyway, Willie was doing some watering this morning and I liked the way this very red geranium looked in the morning light with a few drops of water on it.

geranium_4243

Willie was out watering the flowers this morning…

As you can see in this photo (if you read my two posts about DOF), this image has a very shallow depth of field. I like the way it blurs some of the petals on the flower and the whole background and buds. Your attention is drawn right to the center of the flower and then around, never off the page. It is a great day here today, as most days are in Huntington Beach. I spent most of the morning watching some new lynda.com videos. There is a really great new one on understanding blending modes. There are a lot of adjustments you can make to images by just duplicating the layer and using a different mode. I will need to start playing with it some!

273/365

Leave a Reply

