One Good Photographer's Weblog

Old Town Pasadena

Posted in Photography by Bridget Casas on May 11, 2009

After reading the DPS  post for today, I decided I would look for a pattern, either man made or in nature, to photograph today. We were in Pasadena today at the shop and decided to go over by the Pasadena City Hall. It is a very beautiful area. This tile work is in a courtyard across the street and close to a hotel and some restaurants. I thought the colors and the patterns were outstanding.  There were many pretty  fountains and some great places to sit and take it all in.

Pasadena_9981

Part of a large courtyard with beautiful things to look at…

At the shop, we looked at my MG which is being restored and looking great! We had lunch up there, took some photos and then came home. Kyla and Donnan came along for the ride. I had to get home because I had a lot of errands to do. I need to work some more on my photo for class tomorrow night and then I still have a lot to do on my website for Wednesday night. I have a few busy days ahead of me!

251/365

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. David Blanchard said, on May 14, 2009 at 10:38 am

    Hi Bridget,

    Really enjoy the image, but an image like this has to be perfect regarding angles and pincushioning. Its off just enough to be disturbing to the anal-retentive. I fiddled with it in PS and was able to tweek it a bit in the correct direction. In the end, careful selection of a lens and level is the best solution.

    Cropping the grass is an artistic preference on which I can go either way. I think it adds a non-pattern reality that works.

    BTW, old MGs are a nasty habit. Care is recommended. 🙂

    Thanks,
    David

  2. Bridget Casas said, on May 14, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I agree there is a little something off. In PS I added guide lines and did a little tweaking. I did not go into lens distortion or warp. The grout lines look straight, but there is still something off…and I love my MGB!
    Thank you for looking and playing with my image!

  3. Sue Barron said, on February 22, 2010 at 11:31 am

    If you count the tiles the right side arch is wider than the left side which prevents perfect symmetry.

    • Bridget Casas said, on February 22, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      Thank you for looking at the image. I know it is not perfect. I need to work on another one!


Leave a Reply

