One Good Photographer's Weblog

Dirigible Hangers in Tustin

Posted in Photography by Bridget Casas on April 30, 2009

Willie and I were over in Tustin today at Micro Center. I took my camera with me and told him that I wanted to go over by the hangers, used for helicopters and blimps at the old Marine Corps Air Station. They were built in 1942. I was on a scouting mission for my next class assignment. We are to do an image of a building, free standing, at least 5 stories high so we can learn how to fix the perspective in Photoshop. The two hangers are 192 feet tall. I do not know how many stories that is equal to. If someone can help me I would appreciate it. Maybe some young architectural student would know?

hanger_20090430_7525-copy

One of the two hangers at the Marine Corps Air Station…

There is a lot of work going on over there because this area that used to be the base is supposed to be some kind of  “great American park.” Who knows when that will be finished! The final project in the web design class is due in two weeks. I will be re-doing my website to make it more CSS friendly. I will be working on it this week-end. It was a very beautiful day today and I hope the week-end will be the same. I heard a rumor of some rain on Saturday – that is hard to believe! The more I look at this building, the more I do not think it is a good subject for my assignment. I will do some more scouting tomorrow.

240/365

Leave a Reply

