One Good Photographer's Weblog

Look at My Hunk of Gold!

Posted in Huntington Beach, Personal, Photography by Bridget Casas on April 6, 2009

Isn’t this a gorgeous piece of rock with gold running through it? Willie brought this to me last week after he was out with the dogs.  See how it shines and even a small piece is reflecting on the white board? The other colors in the rock aren’t bad either. I was busy today with some clients. I walked around outside and saw this sitting on the patio table. It was a sudden choice for today, but a good one! I will do better tomorrow.

gold_vein_20090406_5527-copy

A gorgeous piece of fools gold…

Is this a form of pyrite? I love the texture and variety of color in this piece of rock. How often do we stop and look at a rock like this? Is it like “stop and smell the roses?” I used a close-up filter so I could get in real tight. It actually got rather warm today. I don’t think it is going to rain tomorrow.  I gave the dogs some ice cubes today. They actually love “cubes.”  Kyla will bob for her’s if I put it in her water bowl! They are so silly!

216/365

Leave a Reply

