One Good Photographer's Weblog

Down a Long Corridor

Posted in Photography by Bridget Casas on April 2, 2009

Here is another photo from the historic Santa Ana Train Station. Maybe one of these days I will actually show you a train! It is great place to walk around and explore. I found this corridor as I was walking around the terminal from the back to the front looking for Willie and the dogs. There is no place to find new construction and detail like this today.  Aren’t the wooden beams, lantern light fixtures and tile work beautiful? It was almost 5:00 P.M. when I took this, so the sun is very low but still harsh.

sa_train_station_20090401_5420-copy

Beautiful old craftsmanship in detail…

I am getting used to shooting only in raw now. I am processing more in camera raw but I still always end up in Photoshop! I really do like all of the extra information I get in the raw format. I have been totally shooting in manual mode for some time now, and with the raw added to that, it is all mine – I have as much control as I can get, without all the fancy lighting equipment, etc. My friend cancelled today to do the photos of her horses, etc. We will do it Monday morning. Tomorrow is Friday and we are going to dinner with Larry and Shelley.

212/365

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jelb said, on April 3, 2009 at 8:27 am

    Bonjour,
    Nice capture..Amazing perspective..You are right to work in raw, because this allows to obtain one better control of the luminosity and the details in particular during the post-treatment..Bravo!

  2. Ilan said, on April 3, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Marvelous result.
    Very geometrical frame, I love the use of light here.
    Great frame!

  3. Richard said, on April 10, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    Don’t no nothin bout pho-to-gra-phy…
    But I do love trains and old stations. I don’t know why, but I see some guy in jeans leaning back against one of these pillars with a bored look, one leg crooked back with his foot against the pillar. Waiting. The picture has feeling.

    • Bridget Casas said, on April 10, 2009 at 2:45 pm

      I like your comment – along with your interpretation of the photo. Thank you very much!


Leave a Reply

