One Good Photographer's Weblog

How Can an Angel Be Such a Diablo?

Posted in Family, Personal, Photography by Bridget Casas on March 26, 2009

My baby boy Donnan is so very sweet and kind. However, he gives us some problems! I took him for a walk this morning by himself to give him some one on one attention. He did great. We live close to a grammar school and the kindergarten kids were out on recess. I purposely crossed the street so he could see them. The kids ran to the fence to see him and he was so scared. Why is he so insecure? We went by a few other dogs and of course he growled and wanted to bark. I cannot tell him that it is alright because that just reinforces the behavior and he would think being scared is alright.

donnan

Doesn’t he look like a sweetheart…?

I took this photo over a year ago but it has always been one of my favorites. I did a lot of reading today on dog training. I think where we failed with him was we never took him for puppy training and he was not socialized with other dogs or other people. I took Kyla up to our local PetSmart and she loves everybody. I need help! Is there anyone who can help me?  His problems are socialization with other people (especially children) and any other dog. He is great with us, of course, and loves it when Larry comes over. He barks at Shelley, but she just ignores him, which I think is the right thing to do. Help!!!

205/365

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Randi said, on March 30, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    He is adorable!

  2. lplatzeck said, on April 9, 2009 at 1:02 am

    He’s exactly like the terrier I met at the pet shop when I was trying to find the right food for my dogs. You mentioned him on my wordpress blog.

    They are wonderful dogs. So sweet. I made the same mistake with my Westies. They were not taken to “school” and not socialized properly so they are either barking and making a fuss or scared.

    Me bad.

    http://www.thelittlefoxes.net

  3. nicolerigets said, on March 3, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    Hi Bridget,
    We signed up for training class and Bailey went along with it for two weeks; learned quickly, passed the tests, and then went directly into heat. By the time we mastered that the classes were over. She knew all the commands and she did them exactly when she felt like it. I can remember saying, “Sit…sit…SIT” and when she wouldn’t I barked out….okay stand!! I felt like I got the last word.

    When she was impossible I used to call her, “My little doggy devil.”
    Donnan is irresistible is this photograph.
    Nicole


Leave a Reply

